Raining a Reader Logo

A Message from Raising A Reader about COVID-19
May 12
, 2020

Dear Raising A Reader Network,   

RAR National has been listening carefully to our Affiliates’ concerns surrounding their plans for resuming RAR implementation. All of us will be encountering new landscapes that need innovative service models to serve families in safe and effective ways. We’ve been busy collaborating with partners and thought leaders about ways to meet the new normal. At Friday’s Town Hall, we will share some of the exciting options we are working on. Join us on Friday, May 15 at 11am PT, 2pm ET. Register here.

What a treat to have an RAR author attend our Town Hall last Friday to talk about his book! Thank you, Dr. Khalid White, for sharing the inspiration for Hermanito that appears in our PreK Spanish Refresher collection. We also showcased the 130 new books that have been added in our 2020 Refreshers. If you missed it, watch the recorded version here.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards,

Michelle Torgerson and the Raising A Reader team  

Weekly Town Hall Meetings
This is a forum for RAR and Affiliates to share resources, ask questions and network. Raising A Reader will also provide information from partners such as Khan Academy Kids, Ready4K, Springboard Collaborative, Common Sense Media and others during this forum. Meetings take place on Fridays at 11 AM PDT/2 PM EDT.

Register here for RAR Town Hall Meetings

COVID-19 Affiliate Toolkit

This toolkit features a collection of information and resources requested by the network. The toolkit is updated regularly so check back often.

Funding Resources
Publisher Permissions
Resource Library
RAR’s Youtube Page
Family Literacy Calendars (courtesy of Raising A Reader Massachusetts)
Parent Tip Sheets (now in Spanish and Chinese!)
Socially Distance Library Connection

Professional Development & E-Learning
Raising A Reader is collecting professional development opportunities from Affiliates and partner organizations. This week’s webinar opportunities are:

May 12 special webinar: 9:30-11 am PT/ 12:30pm-2pm ET
United Way Brings Noggin to GLR Communities: Equipping Parents as Essential Partners

May 12: 12pm PT/ 3pm ET
Early Childhood Innovation for Impact in a Crisis: A Show+Tell Pop Up with Promise

May 13: 12pm PT/ 3pm ET
Connecting With Families With Special Needs Children

May 15: 10am PT/ 1pm ET
Serving English Learners in A Distance Learning Environment (You must create a free ESEA account.)

May 19: 12pm PT/ 3pm ET
The Science of Reading, Part 2: Applying the Science in the Classroom