Raining a Reader Logo

A Message from Raising A Reader about COVID-19
May 19
, 2020

Dear Raising A Reader Network,   

In the last few months, we’ve all had to navigate unprecedented challenges that we never imagined. Raising A Reader National has been inspired by the ability of our partners to pivot their service models to accommodate the needs of their families. In parallel, RAR National created a COVID-19 Response and Recovery Plan that has helped us listen and respond to the needs of our Affiliates and keep our commitment to serving families. We have spent the last two months listening closely and are now moving into our Recovery Phase, which we rolled out during the Town Hall meeting last Friday. If you missed it, the webinar is available here. Highlights include:

  • Program Evaluation - Options for remotely collecting implementation data (if required).
  • Summer Literacy Kit - Includes 5 weeks of activities with the accompanying parent guide, RAR books, and materials. Available for order June 1. Shipping begins in July. Look for an eblast with more details coming soon.
  • Book Bag Recovery - Suggestions for gathering your Red Book Bags and CDC guidelines for making them safe for redistribution when classes resume.
  • Barefoot Books Matching Program - This publisher of several RAR titles has offered to donate one book to RAR for every Barefoot Book purchased between May 15 and July 1. Donated books will be distributed to our Affiliates based on needs expressed in the March survey.

 We will continue this discussion in the upcoming Town Hall on Friday, May 22, at 11am PDT/2pm EDT.   Please join us by registering here

 We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards,

Michelle Torgerson and the Raising A Reader team  

Weekly Town Hall Meetings

This is a forum for RAR and Affiliates to share resources, ask questions and network. Raising A Reader will also provide information from partners such as Khan Academy Kids, Ready4K, Springboard Collaborative, Common Sense Media and others during this forum. Meetings take place on Fridays at 11 AM PDT/2 PM EDT.

Register here for RAR Town Hall Meetings

COVID-19 Affiliate Toolkit

This toolkit features a collection of information and resources requested by the network. The toolkit is updated regularly so check back often.

Funding Resources
Publisher Permissions
Resource Library
RAR’s Youtube Page
Family Literacy Calendars (courtesy of Raising A Reader Massachusetts) 
Parent Tip Sheets (now in Spanish and Chinese!) 
Socially Distanced Library Connection

Professional Development & E-Learning

Raising A Reader is collecting professional development opportunities from Affiliates and partner organizations. This week’s webinar opportunities are:

May 19, 2020: 12pm PT/3pm ET
The Science of Reading, Part 2: Applying the Science in the Classroom

May 22, 2020: 10am PT/1pm ET
The Community Connection: Building Family Engagement Through Professional Learning Communities

May 26, 2020: 9:30am PT/12:30pm ET
Protecting the Building Blocks of Early Learning: An Urgent Priority

May 26, 2020: 12pm PT/3pm ET
Underconnected, Yet Eager to Learn: Confronting Digital Inequities