Dear Raising A Reader Network,   

Happy 4th of July! In celebration of the holiday, we will not be holding our Town Hall this Friday, July 3, but will resume on July 10 at 11am PST/2pm EST. Register here.

  • Last week we discussed some options to help Affiliates resume their RAR programs. We have suggestions for safe rotation of book bags, and some reduced-priced books to replace materials that weren’t returned. We want our Affiliates to start the year with complete sets and safe rotation schedules that meet their needs. The recorded version of the webinar can be found here. You can also view the slide deck of the Town Hall.
  • Last chance to order your Super Summer Book Bags! Filled with 6 weeks of fun, literacy activities to keep families engaged and kids ready to start school in the fall. Limited quantities available. We are accepting orders until July 6.

Enjoy the holiday! 

Kindest regards,

The Raising A Reader team  

Weekly Super Summer Town Hall Meetings

This is a forum for RAR and Affiliates to share resources, ask questions and network. Raising A Reader will also provide information from partners such as Khan Academy Kids, Ready4K, Springboard Collaborative, Common Sense Media and others during this forum. Meetings take place on Fridays at 11 AM PDT/2 PM EDT.

Register here for RAR Town Hall Meetings

COVID-19 Affiliate Toolkit

This toolkit features a collection of information and resources requested by the network. The toolkit is updated regularly so check back often.

Disinfecting Materials Flyer
Inventory Spreadsheet
Resource Library
RAR’s Youtube Page

Professional Development & E-Learning

Raising A Reader is collecting professional development opportunities from Affiliates and partner organizations. This week’s webinar opportunities are:

Campaign for Grade-Level Reading Learning Tuesdays

June 30
Bridging the Early Years & Early Grades to Reduce Learning Loss

July 7
When Schools Close: Harnessing the Power of Summer Learning for Early School Success

12:00 PM PT | 3:00 PM ET  
Register here for the following CGLR Learning Tuesdays courses.

 

YMCA

July 1
Join the YMCA for their Unlearning Systemic Racism Town Hall on July 1. A dynamic set of speakers, including Senator Kamala Harris, will discuss the profound impact of systemic racism & the tools to lead communities towards greater equity for all.

8 AM – 12 PM PT | 10 AM – 2 PM CT | 11 AM – 3 PM ET
Register here for YMCA’s July 1 Unlearning Systemic Racism.

 

NAFSCE

Effective Practices Summer Webinar Series: Trauma-Informed Family and Community Engagement, Webinars 2 and 3:

July 1
Research Into Practice with South Dakota Statewide Family Engagement Center and Ready4K.

July 22
Trauma-informed Practices in MD and PA with the Collaborative Action for Family Engagement Center and Dr. Seth Shaffer.

Registrants are encouraged to watch this 15-minute TED talk and read this short summary of the ACEs study for background on the science behind trauma.

12:00 PM PT | 3:00 PM ET
Register here for Trauma-Informed FCE Webinars.

 

COX Campus

Summer Learning & School Readiness For Families
Develop and extend your child’s learning through meaningful interactions and engaging activities in everyday situations – in the way that best suits your family – so everyone is ready when school starts again. Learn more.